4cHair · banana mask · natural hair

Banana, Olive Oil, & Honey Mask on Natural Hair

Ok, so let me start off by saying this is an amazing hair mask, but it is NOT for natural hair! I made the mistake of applying this mask on my hair about a week ago. i used 3/4 banana, 2 tsp of olive oil, and 1 tbsp of honey, blended well (At least I thought.)

So, I shampooed my hair then coated it with the mask. After leaving the mask on my hair for about 1 hour, I shampooed one more time to rinse it out.This stuff was so hard to get out of my hair!!!! I shampooed about 3 more times. After I realized that wasn’t working, I researched how to get this crap out of my hair. I read an article recommending to do an oil rinse to remove the rest of the bananas out. I proceeded to do so with olive oil, which worked for the most part. By that time, it was late and I was sleepy, so I deep conditioned my hair with Eden Body Works deep conditioner mixed with Olive Oil and let it sit in my hair overnight. When I woke the next morning, I rinsed the rest of the bananas out with grapeseed oil. Finally, RELIEF! My hair was free of bananas!!!

My advice to you,

  1. My curly girls, do not even try it. It will get messy.
  2. My straight haired girls, make sure the mask is blended SUPER WELL. Use a blender!

If you really want to reap the benefits of this mask, try using the baby food bananas. I’ve heard that works better than using whole bananas. I also read that the same thing happens when people use avocados on their hair. I’m guessing it’s just that thick substance, which can easily get stuck in curly hair.

Here’s a picture of what my hair looked like after about 2 washes. Big mistake on my end. Does anybody else have better experiences with hair masks?

IMG_1194

Leave a comment